mabipro on linux?
Posted at 06-25-18, 08:49 pm Link | #1
Superkim0

Posts: 3
Joined: 06-06-17
Last post: 53 days
Last view: 36 days
So i just got fedora installed on an external hard drive and i want to be able to ego feed while working on my assignments and i was just wondering if i can download and play mabipro on linux. I also hav a windows machine and i know it works there, but when i go to the downloads page and download the full client installer and try to install it i get an error message on fedora? I just wanna know if i can play mabipro on linux is all. Sorry for the long post.
post rev. 1 by Kakusha on 06-26-18, 07:15 am
Posted at 06-26-18, 07:15 am Link | #2
Kakusha

Posts: 36
Joined: 02-18-17
Last post: 53 days
Last view: 11 days
Linux can't run .exe files natively (they're a Microsoft thing); you can try running it through WINE. It's been years since I've used Linux so I'm not 100% sure on how you'd do that, but here's the page on their website for downloading it:

https://wiki.winehq.org/Fedora

I believe you enter those code-looking strings into Terminal to get going.


Like I said, haven't even looked at a Linux distro in... must be like 8/9 years so I'm probably not going to be much help beyond this; but it's a start!
Posted at 06-30-18, 11:49 pm Link | #3
Drahan GM

Posts: 1982
Joined: 02-06-17
Last post: 3 days
Last view: 19 hours
Short answer: No.

Long answer: Maybe - with enough time and effort it is possible to run MabiPro's client in Wine.
This requires the latest version of Wine (3.0+), and the stock Mabinogi G13 DevClient with MabiPro's packages.

Unfortunately, the production G13 client will not run in Wine due to complications with Themida.
However, the DevClient has no Themida and it will actually run fine for the most part.
Posted at 07-29-18, 10:48 am Link | #4
Tisesme

Posts: 7
Joined: 02-25-17
Last post: 5 days
Last view: 18 hours
This requires the latest version of Wine (3.0+), and the stock Mabinogi G13 DevClient with MabiPro's packages.


How would one go about getting the G13 DevClient with MabiPro's packages?
Posted at 08-07-18, 08:04 pm Link | #5
Drahan GM

Posts: 1982
Joined: 02-06-17
Last post: 3 days
Last view: 19 hours
This requires the latest version of Wine (3.0+), and the stock Mabinogi G13 DevClient with MabiPro's packages.


How would one go about getting the G13 DevClient with MabiPro's packages?

We cannot distribute these files, so you have to find them yourself


Once you obtain those files, extract the NpcClient from it, and then place MabiPro's package files /package into the same directory on the NpcClient.

Next, start the NpcClient's ClientD.exe with the same parameters you use to manually launch MabiPro like so:
ClientD.exe code:1622 logip:75.127.4.123 logport:11000 chatip:75.127.4.123 chatport:8002 setting:"file://data/features.xml=Regular, Japan"

You will not be able to create new characters, or rebirth with the NpcClient/devClient due to changes we have made in our client, but it will be somewhat playable otherwise.
Posted at 08-12-18, 08:10 am Link | #6
Tisesme

Posts: 7
Joined: 02-25-17
Last post: 5 days
Last view: 18 hours
Ok, so this is what I've come up with.

Upon opening the zip with the DevClient in it, I noticed that there were two NPCClient folders, one labled "NPCClient_Ch1" and the other labled "NPCClient_House". I decided to use the the Ch1 folder (Not really sure if it matters)

I put all the package files from my MabiPro folder into the package folder from the NPCClient folder.

The first thing I attempted to do to launch into MabiPro was create a shortcut of ClientD.exe and put the parameters at the end of the target like so: C:\Users\USERNAME\Desktop\NPCClient_Ch1\ClientD.exe code:1622 logip:75.127.4.123 logport:11000 chatip:75.127.4.123 chatport:8002 setting:"file://data/features.xml=Regular, Japan"

I launched successfully into the client, but trying to connect to the server I got a "Server Cannot Be Reached" error

The second thing I decided to do was edit the start.bat file that was in the folder, although I'm pretty sure it does the exact same thing as the prior, and I received the same error when trying to log in.

Any suggestions?
post rev. 5 by Drahan on 08-12-18, 10:39 pm
Posted at 08-12-18, 10:35 pm Link | #7
Drahan GM

Posts: 1982
Joined: 02-06-17
Last post: 3 days
Last view: 19 hours
Ok, so this is what I've come up with.

Upon opening the zip with the DevClient in it, I noticed that there were two NPCClient folders, one labled "NPCClient_Ch1" and the other labled "NPCClient_House". I decided to use the the Ch1 folder (Not really sure if it matters)

I put all the package files from my MabiPro folder into the package folder from the NPCClient folder.

The first thing I attempted to do to launch into MabiPro was create a shortcut of ClientD.exe and put the parameters at the end of the target like so: C:\Users\USERNAME\Desktop\NPCClient_Ch1\ClientD.exe code:1622 logip:75.127.4.123 logport:11000 chatip:75.127.4.123 chatport:8002 setting:"file://data/features.xml=Regular, Japan"

I launched successfully into the client, but trying to connect to the server I got a "Server Cannot Be Reached" error

The second thing I decided to do was edit the start.bat file that was in the folder, although I'm pretty sure it does the exact same thing as the prior, and I received the same error when trying to log in.

Any suggestions?

It does not matter which one you use - they are exactly the same.

It sounds like your client version may be set incorrectly (out of date).
Make sure to remove all of the packages that were in the NpcClient by default, and only use packages that were distributed with the official MabiPro client.
I believe it comes with language.pack and data.pack - these both need removed.

Additionally, when you are launching this way, you do not receive updates from MabiPro's launcher.
Make sure the MabiPro client you are pulling packages from is fully updated.
post rev. 1 by Tisesme on 08-13-18, 12:22 am
Posted at 08-13-18, 12:04 am Link | #8
Tisesme

Posts: 7
Joined: 02-25-17
Last post: 5 days
Last view: 18 hours
My MabiPro client is up to date, the whole package folder is copied from my MabiPro folder and I'm still getting the same error. When I launch the client I get the Nexon logo and then it cuts to the login screen with the MabiPro logo and the Beneath the Jungle Dreaming text. I can select New Account and it will direct me to the mabinogi.ir website registration, but when I put in my information and attempt to login I get the Server cannot be reached error. At this point I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

Edit: I've done something... I copied the contents of my MabiPro folder to a new folder and renamed ClientD.exe to Client.exe and threw it into the now hybrid MabiPro folder. I started it up and it started asking for dlls, I put the dlls it asked for into the hybrid folder and launched the client via the MabinogiProfessional.exe launcher and was able to get into the game... I guess the next step is to try to launch on linux
Terms

Powered by mabi.pro v1.0034-arisa (View credits)
MabiPro is not associated with Nexon Co., Ltd. in any way shape or form.